I Just Ran Round an Island

I just ran round an island

Sticky toes in rubber casings

Every shrub a hiding place

Snakes and toads and titans

*

Clashing with an iron fox

Spitting at my brain

Coughing up her static looks

The fickle paths she sprays

*

A few soft words from Callahan

Stranded in a bar

Out beyond my wounded plans

An eagle’s river’s shard

*

So bursting at the diaphragm

Squishy all the sweat

Rushing harder than I can

Raking out the bets

*

It came to me I wasn’t mean

I’m not a tardis or a stream

Just a lump of fat grown lean

Underneath these countless beams

*

Moving fast the run came closer

Mail awaiting eyes

Worlds that grow from baked to frozen

Come in one strange size

*

My beautiful picture

Leave a Reply

